Equipment

I only shoot digital! It's not because I don't like film. To be honest, I really love pictures taken with vintage film types. The main problem is the time I can offer for my hobby. I am not able to learn about developing and retouching of analog material. Nevertheless, i am collecting old cameras, especially the ones made in Dresden, and I own a lot of them.

Because of that, i shoot digital from the beginning of my photographic 'career' (except some experiments of star photography in the mid 90s). The first real camera I bought was a Canon EOS 350D back in 2006. At that time, the noise level of the sensor was one of the best on the market and so I decided to pick one. Once choosen Canon's product line, I never switched to another system.

Over the years I owned an EOS 30D, an EOS 50D and an EOS 7D. I was very happy to get an outstanding offer of an EOS 5D Mark II back in 2012. I bought the camera used but in outstanding condition for less than half the price of a new one. Since then, I never wanted another camera body.

Trying many third party lenses, I usually wasn't really happy with their image quality. Today, I own a lot of too expensive glass (nearly all of them specified as L) for my hobby and I do not regret buying any of those lenses. Here is a short summary of my equipment:

 

 

  • Canon EOS 5D Mark II (full frame sensor)
  • several Canon lenses within a focal range of 16 to 600mm
  • several (studio-) flashlights and light shapers
  • a lot of (graduated) neutral density and polarizing filters
  • Manfrotto 055XPROB with 410 junior gearhead
  • a lot of other useful tools

Ausrüstung

Ich fotografiere nur digital! Nicht, weil ich Film nicht mag. Um ehrlich zu sein liebe ich die Bilder der alten Filmtypen sogar. Das eigentliche Problem ist, dass ich nicht genügend Zeit habe, mich mit dem Entwickeln und Bearbeiten von Filmen beschäftigen zu können. Dennoch sammle ich alte Kameras und besitze inzwischen eine Menge davon.

Aus den oben genannten Gründen fotografiere ich seit den ersten Tagen meiner Fotografie-Karriere (von ein paar Versuchen in den 90ern abgesehen) digital. Meine erste echte Kamera (2006) war eine Canon EOS 350D. Zu dieser Zeit war das Rauschverhalten des Sensors ausgesprochen gut und ich entschied mich für das Canon-System, dem ich bis heute treu geblieben bin.

Über die Jahre wechselte ich zu einer EOS30D, eine EOS 50D und eine EOS 7D. Ich bekam 2012 ein unglaublich gutes Angebot für eine EOS 5D Mark II. I kaufte die Kamera für weniger als die Hälfte des Neupreises. Sie war zwar gebraucht, aber in ausgesprochen gutem Zustand. Jetzt bin ich zufrieden!

Ich benutzte viele Objektive von Drittanbietern, war mit deren Qualität aber nie so recht zufrieden. Heute besitze ich eine Menge viel zu teurer Objektive, deren Kauf ich bis heute bei keinem einzelnen bereue. Hier findet ihr eine Liste meines momentanen Equipments:

 

 

  • Canon EOS 5D Mark II (Vollformat-Sensor)
  • Canon-Objektive von 16 bis 600mm Brennweite
  • Diverse (Studio-)Blitzgeräte und Lichtformer
  • Verschiedene Grau-, Verlaufs- und Polfilter
  • Manfrotto 055XPROB mit 410 Junior Gearhead
  • Sonstiges nützliches Zubehör